Car battery through X2 DO?

Topics about the Hardware of Revolution Pi
Kiobod
Answers: 0

Car battery through X2 DO?

Post by Kiobod »

Hello all,
I'm working on a project with a Rev Core and a Rev DIO. All I want to do right now is turn some LEDs on and off. That is, ones that I wire up :) I've mastered the art of turning on and off the built-in LEDs haha.

As there are no consumer electronics stores in my area, I've tried several more home-grown solutions to find something that fits the bill so that I can turn lights on and off with my Rev Pi DIO. The only problem is, the DIO doesn't seem to like any of the circuits I've tried to wire up.

I started with a 12V car battery and some car lights, but the DIO red LED for DO never switched to green. As a novice electrician, I didn't want to go more powerful, so I've run the gambit of smaller batteries, but the DIO seems perfectly indifferent to them all.

Would anyone have a suggestion as to a power source and actuators I could find nearby, or do I need to order some specific equipment on Amazon?

Thanks,
Kiobod
volker
Answers: 1

Re: Car battery through X2 DO?

Post by volker »

Hi KIobod,
I think the best way to start is to view the video tutorial or read the written ones (go to SUPPORT and then TUTORIALS):
Video Tutorial #8 and #12-16 are about DIO. I'm sorry but there are German version only. But in #12-16 you can see a nice wiring with light bulbs...
I understand from your posting that you may not have connected X2 as described in the"connecting the power supply"tutorial.
please use for you purpose the same power supply you are using for the X4 main supply connector. Do connect +24V as well as GND of BOTH terminals (input AND output supply) to the 12-24 V power supply. this may be a car battery but with 12 V you will have the first level of "under voltage detection" on the DIO and thus will see the red warning light. You can simply ignore this indication if you know that the cause is using 12 V instead of 24 V.