Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Topics about the Hardware of Revolution Pi
Post Reply
Mihael
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Feb 2024, 16:54
Answers: 0

Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Post by Mihael »

Hello,

We have a RevPi4 Connect together with a Revpi AIO.

I would like to setup this sensor:
https://www.ifm.com/de/en/product/TA3105

I am following this guide https://revolutionpi.com/en/tutorials/o ... figuration. I connected the Brown to 28, the White to 24 and have connected 28 and 26 together (all of this is on the AIO). I then configured them in the web GUI as follows:
Input1Range: 4-20mA
Intput1Multipler: 1
Input1Divisor: 1
Input1Offset: 0

I then saved the configuration and reset the driver. In the GUI InputValue_1 does not change.

The PWR on both the RevPI and the AIO are green. On the AIO the OUT and IN are also green. I am powering the AIO with 24V and ground using the 24V and 0V ports located at the bottom of the AIO. The AIO is also connected to the RevPi Connect 4 through their own connector at the back.

I used "piTest -r Input_Value_1" and it returns "Cannot find variable InputValue_1". I tested if the AIO is working by inputting piTest -d which returns "Module is present but not configured". I tried swapping the location of the AIO module from the right to the left in the GUI and that made no impact.

I attempted to supply 24V and GND to the sensor but that also changed nothing.

Any idea how we can resolve this?
Best Answerby nicolaiB » 07 Feb 2024, 16:34
Looks like your wiring is wrong:

brown should be connected with the positive voltage of the power supply
white should be connected with the positive terminal of the AIO
a ground wire must be connected to the negative terminal of the AIO

The current you want to measure flows through the sensor

Nicolai
Go to full post
u.biakoup
KUNBUS
Posts: 182
Joined: 14 Apr 2022, 13:04
Answers: 2

Re: Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Post by u.biakoup »

Hello,
Your configuration doesn't seem to be correct. Without a correct configuration, you won't be able to read the AIO variables.

The statement "The module is present but not configured" refers to hardware recognition of the AIO in your installation, but the configuration at software level (Pictory) has not been taken into account. Please configure the AIO module again on Pictory (Webbrowser). The right statement must be only "module is present". Please see the picture below.
2024-02-07 12_05_18-192.168.1.214.png
I need to know which image you are using in your System
Could you post here the output of the command ?

Code: Select all

cat /proc/version
Best Regards,

Ulrich Kouatang Biakoup | Technical Support
Mihael
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Feb 2024, 16:54
Answers: 0

Re: Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Post by Mihael »

Yes, I indeed had to configure it properly. It now is configured and measuring. Here is the image version.

Code: Select all

Linux version 6.1.46-rt13-v (support@kunbus.com) (aarch64-linux-gnu-gcc (Debian 10.2.1-6) 10.2.1 20210110, GNU Id (GNU Binutils for Debian) 2.35.2) #1 SMP PREEMPT_RT Tue, 28 Nov 2023 11:37:39 +0100
I am also now encounter the problem that however i calibrate my sensor I always get the IN status LED to be blinking read. These are my current configurations:
Input1Range: 4-20mA
Intput1Multipler: 200
Input1Divisor: 16000
Input1Offset: 54

Even though when I type in

Code: Select all

piTest -r InputValue_1
it returns 54. Any idea why?
User avatar
nicolaiB
KUNBUS
Posts: 877
Joined: 21 Jun 2018, 10:33
Answers: 8
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Post by nicolaiB »

A flashing red LED indicates
Range error. A too high a voltage or too high a power supply at one or more inputs. Check the input status in the process image.
https://revolutionpi.com/en/tutorials/u ... evpi-aio-2

What is the voltage of the connected sensor? Could you please share a picture of the overall setup / wiring?

Nicolai
Mihael
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Feb 2024, 16:54
Answers: 0

Re: Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Post by Mihael »

The sensor is supplied with 24V. Sorry but I am not sure exactly how to insert the image, so hopefully this link will work for you:

https://imgur.com/ZWXtTfA

Here is also a diagram I quickly made just now (please excuse its crude look):

https://imgur.com/Zl2PHZK

Hope this helps! Let me know if you need anything else.
User avatar
nicolaiB
KUNBUS
Posts: 877
Joined: 21 Jun 2018, 10:33
Answers: 8
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Post by nicolaiB »

Looks like your wiring is wrong:

brown should be connected with the positive voltage of the power supply
white should be connected with the positive terminal of the AIO
a ground wire must be connected to the negative terminal of the AIO

The current you want to measure flows through the sensor

Nicolai
Mihael
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Feb 2024, 16:54
Answers: 0

Re: Measuring Current Loop - Module is Present but not configured.

Post by Mihael »

Yes, that worked! Thank you!
Post Reply