Anil
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 09:13

what is the minimum number of Modbus RTU master as virtual device we can configure in pictory ?

30 Nov 2019, 11:33

Hello, kunbus team,

We have a certain number of slaves and we have around 1000 tags for those slaves. In order to map those slaves to Modbus RTU master 150 in pictory, we need around 7 virtual devices (Modbus RTU master 150 ). As per your document for Modbus RTU master, we can use more than one Modbus RTU master. Exactly How many Modbus RTU master 150 we can use as virtual device?
Does it is possible to map one slave to more than one Modbus RTU master 150?
Does it is possible to map more than one slave to a single Modbus RTU master 150?
 
Ashish
Posts: 15
Joined: 29 Mar 2019, 13:49

Re: what is the minimum number of Modbus RTU master as virtual device we can configure in pictory ?

30 Nov 2019, 11:51

Hi Dirk & Team,
We are trying to implement a Data logging application for Solar Industry in India. Wherein our Rev Pi will act as a data logging H/w with additional software from our software partners.
So based on the above inputs from my colleague Mr. Anil, we have some 1K approx tags of RS-485 in Inverter block which are to be stored in our Revolution Pi and transferred to cloud via MQTT or HTTP.
Please clarify if our device will suffice to these requirements.
 
User avatar
dirk
KUNBUS
Posts: 630
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 13:19
Location: Ostfildern
Contact:

Re: what is the minimum number of Modbus RTU master as virtual device we can configure in pictory ?

04 Dec 2019, 11:01

Hi Ashish, per interface you can just use one ModbusRTU Master as there are rest periods on the bus. You can use more USB 2.0 to 2 x serial RS-485 adapters to handle this. Have in mind that with the Modbus 150 Virtual Module you have to expect poor PiCtory performance. There is a check which performs unique variable names.
 
Anil
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: 24 Jul 2019, 09:13

Re: what is the minimum number of Modbus RTU master as virtual device we can configure in pictory ?

05 Dec 2019, 06:07

Hi, dirk Thanks for your response,
"per interface you can just use one ModbusRTU Master as there are rest periods on the bus"

I did not understand what you are trying to say in the above line especially the rest periods on the bus
Will you please elaborate or give more explanation about it.
 
User avatar
dirk
KUNBUS
Posts: 630
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 13:19
Location: Ostfildern
Contact:

Re: what is the minimum number of Modbus RTU master as virtual device we can configure in pictory ?

06 Dec 2019, 10:48

Hi Anil, have a look at this post and this Blog entry. I and other people cannot recommend it and we do not support it. But our system is open so that you might be able to implement a multi master solution yourself.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests