Hardware orientation for home automation project

Topics about the Hardware of Revolution Pi
mdingena
Answers: 0

Hardware orientation for home automation project

Post by mdingena »

Hello,

I'm doing research on home automation, and I've stumbled across Revolution Pi. I'm trying to see if this matches my intentions. Can you please help me put together the correct setup?

I'm a software developer by trade. I'm not very familiar with electrical engineering, but I have friends who are much more familiar with it than I am. I want to automate equipment in and around my home. It will go beyond the basic on/off switching of lights; the intention is to be able to create "scenes" to change multiple devices simultaneously for a given situation. The situation can be based on multiple factors, like geofencing, weather, time of day, and other inputs.

I'm comfortable programming in JavaScript and PHP, and so naturally I'm looking at Node.js solutions. I understand that real PLCs are programmed using Ladder Logic, but if I can avoid learning a new language, that'd be great. I've read here that with your latest RevPi image, you are including Node-RED out of the box. But I've had a hard time finding information on the forum newer than 5 months old about whether or not the community or KUNBUS has succeeded in developing a driver to let Node-RED talk directly with the process image on the RevPi Core. The most recent solution I've read here was to use the "piTest" program that comes with RevPi in a Node-RED node to read the state of the process image. A video tutorial on this would be much appreciated.